NCAA DIII Field Hockey Tournament Bracket Announced

NCAA DIII Field Hockey Tournament Bracket Announced

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee announced late Sunday evening the field of 24 teams that will compete in the 2019 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Saint Joseph's College (18-3, 8-0 GNAC) will play at Babson College (18-4, 8-0 NEWMAC) on Wednesday, start time TBD. The Monks earned an automatic qualifier into the national tournament – for the fourth-consecutive year – with a 4-0 victory over Lasell University in the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) Championship on Saturday. Babson, which fell in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) title match to MIT, 3-2 in overtime, on Saturday, claimed one of just five at-large berths and will be making an NCAA Tournament appearance for the third time in the last four years.

Sixteen teams will compete in eight first-round games on campus sites Wednesday, Nov. 13. The eight first-round winners, along with the eight teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday, November 16 and 17.

CHAMPIONSHIP INFO: View the 2019 bracket | Buy tickets | Broadcast schedule

The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals and final, Saturday and Sunday, November 23 and 24, at Spooky Nook Sports Complex in Manheim, Pennsylvania. Semifinals will be played at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, November 23, with the championship game being played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, November 24. Championship information, including information about tickets, is available here.

Seventeen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2019 championship. Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, five berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 17 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:

Capital Athletic Conference Salisbury
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins
Colonial States Athletic Conference Wilson
Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott
Empire 8 Hartwick
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Saint Joseph's (Maine)
Landmark Scranton
Liberty League Rochester (New York)
Little East Conference Worcester State
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Fairleigh Dickinson-Florham
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference MIT
New Jersey Athletic Conference The College of New Jersey
North Coast Athletic Conference Denison
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Lynchburg
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Geneseo

The Pool B teams are:

  • Centre
  • Marywood

The five Pool C teams are:

  • Babson
  • Franklin & Marshall
  • Kean
  • Rowan
  • Tufts

The dates, sites and pairings are listed on the complete championship bracket, which can be found here.  For more information about the championship, log on to

In 2018, Middlebury won its fourth NCAA championship and second straight after a 2-0 win in the title game at Spooky Nook Sports Complex.





Follow Saint Joseph's Athletics on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram!

SIGN UP to receive email alerts about your favorite SJC teams!

Founded in 1912 by the Sisters of Mercy in Portland, Maine, Saint Joseph’s College is Maine’s Catholic liberal arts college in the Mercy tradition. We are inclusive of all faiths, including no faith. The 474-acre campus, located on the shore of Sebago Lake in Standish, Maine offers more than 40 undergraduate programs and a Division III athletic program to a population of approximately 1,000 on-campus students. A pioneer of distance education since the 1970s, the College also provides online certificates and undergraduate and graduate degrees for thousands more working adults who reside in more than 20 other countries. In 2015 the College was selected by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching to receive its Community Engagement Classification, highlighting the College’s focus on community service throughout its mission and daily interactions within local, regional, and global communities. In 2018, Princeton Review recognized SJC as one of its “Green Colleges” for its sustainability initiatives. Learn more at