Monks Close Out Season at NEIGA Championship

Monks Close Out Season at NEIGA Championship

Brewster, Mass -- Teams from 28 colleges and universities across New England gathered at The Captains Course in Brewster, MA, on Sunday and Monday, October 20-21, 2019 for the 85th Annual Men's and 4th Annual Women's New England Intercollegiate Golf Championship.  One hundred and thirty-seven golfers from Divisions II and III competed. The NEIGA was pleased to have Cleveland Golf / Srixon return as the 'Presenting Sponsor".

The New England Intercollegiate Golf Association (NEIGA) has been in existence since 1934 and includes member colleges and universities in New England and New York and is considered to be the oldest and largest college golf tournament. 

Division III Babson College, under the leadership of Head Coach Jeff Page, shot a two-day total of 589 to win the overall championship by 15 strokes over Johnson & Wales University. Babson had the top 4 finishers in the tournament while Johnson & Wales had three players tie for 5th overall.

Gianelos, was two-shots back entering Round 2 on the Starboard Course and was able to shoot an even-par 72 to take the overall championship.

Bates College, under the leadership of first-year coach Henry Fall, and Husson University were tied after Round 1 and all players fought hard to the end which saw Bates capture the team title by two strokes (764-766). The ladies individual title saw Romero come from one-shot back to win by three after shooting an 81 today on the Port Course.  Her two-day 163 was three shots better than teammate Rocio Bausa and first-round leader Brooke Chapman from Suffolk University.

Cleveland Golf/Srixon sponsored the long drive and closest to the pin competitions giving new Cleveland Launcher HB Hybrids to the ladies winners and Srixon Z U85 Driving Irons to the men's winners. Winners of the long drive competitions were Ryan Zogby from Western New England University and Paulette Romero of American International College. Winners of the closest to the pin competitions were Eric Dugas of Husson University and Brooke Chapman of Suffolk University.  

At the annual banquet before Round 1 of the Championship, multiple people were honored with special awards. The 2019 Guy Tedesco Award recipient was Springfield College senior Mike Strong. This award is given annually to the Outstanding New England College Golfer who displayed the qualities Guy Tedesco was noted for: unselfish leadership, outstanding talent, love of golf and willingness to promote positive aspects of golf to others.

The Gordon McCullough Award given to the "Coaches Honoree" was presented to Coach Reggie Grant of the University of Southern Maine.

UMass Dartmouth assistant coach Ed Craig, Jr.  was the recipient of the George A. Jacobson Special Recognition Award.








Follow Saint Joseph's Athletics on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram!

SIGN UP to receive email alerts about your favorite SJC teams!

Founded in 1912 by the Sisters of Mercy in Portland, Maine, Saint Joseph’s College is Maine’s Catholic liberal arts college in the Mercy tradition. We are inclusive of all faiths, including no faith. The 474-acre campus, located on the shore of Sebago Lake in Standish, Maine offers more than 40 undergraduate programs and a Division III athletic program to a population of approximately 1,000 on-campus students. A pioneer of distance education since the 1970s, the College also provides online certificates and undergraduate and graduate degrees for thousands more working adults who reside in more than 20 other countries. In 2015 the College was selected by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching to receive its Community Engagement Classification, highlighting the College’s focus on community service throughout its mission and daily interactions within local, regional, and global communities. In 2018, Princeton Review recognized SJC as one of its “Green Colleges” for its sustainability initiatives. Learn more at